New still life



I’m beginning to think I should change the name of this blog to The Monthly Painting.  I can understand now, why most daily painters are able to do their thing and get paintings out every day.  They are either retired or they are professional artists and it’s what they do.  Those of us saddled with a 9-5 job are lucky if we can find the time to get a painting out each week.

I guess that could change if I were a little faster though.  The painting above took just under three hours to complete.  I watch some of my role models like Leslie Saeta, Roger Bansemer or Dreama Tolle Perry and I see them knock out a painting in less than an hour and I get really jealous.  Maybe it’s something that comes with time.  I can only hope.

Anyway, I’m not sure why I felt the need to do a still life tonight, but that’s what I ended up doing.  I started off thinking of doing another sailboar or rowboat, but I was watching a short video on YouTube put up by Jacob Collins and I saw an incredible still life of grapes that he had done and I think that’s what changed my course this evening.  There’s nothing wrong with that because doing these still life paintings is kind of like doing a drawing.  It is basics, it is working on your chops and it is what will make me a better painter in the long run.  Obviously, any time your pick up your brushes is time well spent perfecting your craft, but still lifes and drawing are the things that make all your art better.

Another decision I am coming to after finishing this painting is that after I run out of my square supports (6×6, 8×8, 12×12) I am going to stop buying them.  I have found that finding frames for these square supports is next to impossible.  Finding frames for an 8×10 or 9×12 is easy as can be.  But the square ones, not so much.

So, what do you think?

8×8 inch oil painting on linen panel. This is actually a composite of three different reference photos that I have.

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in flowers, fruits, still life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

