Purple Mountains of my Mind

Well, here we are at the beginning of the new year.  Now is the time to look to the future, or the next year and decide what you need to do differently than you’ve done in the last year.

One of my resolutions is to paint more.  A lot more.  And to do more acrylic paintings.  I’m never going to get the hang of acrylics if I don’t do them.

I am also looking to do more large paintings.  The usual 8x10s are great and all, but I look at them as more practice than anything.

I am planning on doing more workshops.  I would like to do 3-4 workshops a year.  As money is a priority, I’ll stick to workshops that are here on the west coast.  So to start this resolution off, I am heading to Scottsdale in a couple of weeks to take a three day workshop from Daniel Keys.  If you aren’t familiar with his work, you should be.  This “kid” is 26-years-old, half my age, and he paints like a master.  I am thoroughly looking forward to this workshop.

Anyway, here is my first entry for 2012.  I call it Purple Mountains of my Mind.  I call it this because I used no reference photos.  It is completely made up.  One thing I was looking to do was use a limited palette of complementary colors.  If you remember from an earlier post, complementary colors are colors that reside opposite of each other on the color wheel.  In this case, yellow and purple.

To tell the truth, the more I look at this one the more I like it.  Very little, if anything I would change on this one.  I’ll give it a couple of days and then put a couple coats of varnish on it to make it shine.

16×20 inch acrylic on canvas panel.

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Purple Mountains of my Mind

  1. Happy New Year.
    Congratulations on getting to go to a Daniel Keys workshop … I'm green with envy.
    Really nice colors in this one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

