Going big!

Had no work to do today because of the holiday so I decided to do a quick painting.  Yeah right!  Quick wasn’t the word for it because I also decided to do the biggest painting I’ve ever done.  I figured that do it in a decent amount of time, I’d do a palette knife painting.  Another rowboat, so that shouldn’t come as a shock to anyone. 

Four hours later I put the finishing touches on this one.  It’s hard to restart Pandora radio when you have paint on your fingers and don’t want a psychedelic mouse.

I still find myself overworking certain areas and need to figure out how to stop doing that.  It is supposed to be loose and rough, not smooth like a Renaissance painting.  Maybe I should head back down to Pasadena and take another palette knife workshop from Leslie Saeta.  She is the queen of the palette knife when it comes to boat paintings.

Anyway, here it is.  22×28 oil on stretched canvas. 

Let me know what you think.


About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Going big!

  1. It looks good, Dave. The details don't show up that well because the image is small, at least on my computer. Have you tried to set a timer when you paint? Sometimes that helps me. Just keep telling yourself, “step away from the canvas! haha.

    Like

  2. Dave Casey says:

    “Put down the palette knife and step away from the easel.” I've heard that one before, usually from my girlfriend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

