A Pink Carnation(s)

Just had to paint this evening and decided to try something a little different.  I took an old canvas panel that I had laying around, that I had scraped off previously and left it toned.  It was so long ago I can’t even remember what was on the canvas.  I got out some acrylic paints and a palette knife and started smearing paint all over the panel, not really worrying about where I was going with the painting.  I just wanted to get something on the canvas.  And this is the result.

 I did this real quick and then had to leave for an appointment and knew I’d be gone for about two hours and that the canvas would be dry by the time I got home.


Then, while sitting at my desk and eating lunch, I looked at the painting and tried to envision something to go on the canvas.  It took about half an hour of looking, turning the canvas over and looking some more before I saw what I wanted.


I took out some charcoal and started drawing in the beginnings of what I saw in my mind.  It took a good half hour to get it right.  I wiped and erased a number of times before I was satisfied with the drawing.


Out came the oil paints and about an hour later this is what appeared on the canvas.

Not bad for about two hours of work.  I think I may have found one of my signature styles.  I enjoyed doing the painting this way because it was a journey of discovery, not knowing where I was headed until about halfway through.

This is a 20×16″ canvas panel mixed media painting with acrylic and oil paints.

NOTE: Got the picture framed and hung this afternoon.  I think it looks great in its frame.  My sweetie says it’s too loud.  Can you believe that?  I’m gonna have to find a new sweetie.  One that recognizes genius when she sees it.  😉 

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

