Cherry still life 01

Was cruising some of the art videos on Youtube and came across one by an artist in the UK by the name of Will Kemp.  He has a set of videos that show how to paint a simple still life of one cherry.  I watched it and thought that it would be fun.  So let’s get crackin’.

Remember this panel from a few weeks ago?

 I did some practice paintings of some apples and had some paint left over so I toned this panel for a later work.  Well, today was the day to put it to use.

First off, I got the cherry drawn on to the board and made sure it was just right.  Then started on the dark parts of the painting.

Then I promptly forgot to take anymore photos until all was said and done.  But after the shadows and darks, I painted in the background and then started on the reds of the cherry and finished it off with the yellow and green stem.

And here is the finished product.

And to prove a point that I alluded to a few months ago, every painting will look better once it is framed.  One artist I know calls it “bling” for paintings.

Very nice indeed.  Personally I think this is one of my best.  I like it so much I think I’ll do a series of cherry paintings.  Should be interesting.

This is an 8×10″ oil on wood panel.

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

