Day 4 of the 30 Day Challenge – Reflections on Green

Leslie Saeta, the queen of palette knife boat paintings has vowed to NOT paint any boats during this challenge.  I guess she doesn’t want to scare anyone away with her perfection at the subject.  But, with her bowing out of this subject matter, it leaves the field wide open for the rest of us.

So, without further ado, here is my first palette knife painting of the challenge and it is a boat.  Hey, I didn’t pay all that money to attend her workshops and learn how to paint boats with a palette knife for nothing.  And with her out of the picture, so to speak, all the viewers of my painting can “oooo” and “ahhhh” without comparing me to her.

I need to work out a better way to do the edges of the reflections and I think I’ve thought of a way to do it.  I’ll have to do another one of these PK paintings (PK, get it Leslie?) in the next few days and see if it works the way I think it should.

Overall, I love this painting.  It’s colorful.  It’s bold.  And it took about thirty seconds to clean up afterwards.  What‘s not to love about that?

8×10″ oil on linen panel.
     

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in 8x10, lake, marine, maritime, oil, painting, reflections, river, seascape, water. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 4 of the 30 Day Challenge – Reflections on Green

  1. Lou Belcher says:

    Nice work with the knife. Love your vibrant colors too. Lou

    Like

  2. I really like this one … great subject. Love being able to see all the knife work. The reflection really catches the eye.

    Like

  3. This is really quite beautiful, Dave! I love the motion of the water and the complimentary colors – it's amazing! Great job on this one!!! =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

