Day 9 of the 30 Day Challenge – Pair of Pears

Went back to the palette knife this morning after yesterday’s attempt at acrylics and it was so much nicer to feel the oil paints just glide right onto the canvas. And this subject, the two pears, is another live setup.  It took me back to my very first out-of-town workshop with Leslie and the first painting we did was of two pears. What a difference a year and a half makes.

As I commented the other day to one of the participants in this here challenge, I am getting ready to settle into a theme. I am using the first fifteen days of the challenge to just experiment and have fun. Choosing different subject matter each day has been quite interesting. But, starting with day sixteen I intend to focus on one subject and one style of painting that subject. I want to see what happens to my skills when I spend two weeks doing fifteen paintings of the same general subject in the same media.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy a Pair of Pears.  Oh, and I forgot to mention, yesterday‘s post was number 100 for me.  A milestone, yes, but it really shouldn’t have taken me over two years to get here.  Here’s to planning on hitting number 200 before the end of this year.

7×5″ palette knife oil on linen panel.

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 9 of the 30 Day Challenge – Pair of Pears

Leave a Reply

