Day 13 of the 30 Day Challenge – ACEO 01

Went small today for the wide open outdoors. I was wandering through the Dick Blick store a while back and saw these small, stretched canvases in an ACEO size. I had never seen ACEO sized stretched canvas so I bought a couple of packs.

For those not in the know, ACEO stands for Art Cards, Editions and Originals. They are the same size as a baseball trading card, which is actually how they came into being. Another name for these cards is ATC or Art Trading Cards. Artists would do their art on these cards and then trade them with other artists for their cards. Ninety nine times out of a hundred these are done on heavy watercolor paper cut to the ACEO standard size, making them easy to slip into a trading card sleeve for protection and made them simple to mail.

I have seen some art on these things that would make the masters proud. I can tell you, it takes a steady hand and I do have to put on my reading glasses to see what I’m doing.

After struggling for about thirty minutes I called this one finished, but I can see one of my problems that I need to cure myself of is the use of too much medium, in this case walnut oil. At this size I think it would behoove me to just put the medium away and do without it.

I only have one of these canvases left so I’m sure I’ll use it up before the end of this challenge. I’m not sure if the Blick store is carrying these anymore and they may be a special order, in which case, I may not be buying them anymore unless I am placing an order for something else.

2.5×3.5″ oil on ACEO canvas.

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in ACEO, foliage, landscape, oil, painting, sunset, trees. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 13 of the 30 Day Challenge – ACEO 01

  1. This painting has a moody, atmospheric quality to it. Very nice, Dave!

    Like

  2. I like…very 'tonalist'. Nice painting, Dave!

    Like

Leave a Reply

