Day 18 of the 30 Day Challenge – Virtual Paintout #2

Here’s another two for one special. This is Day 18 of the 30 Day Challenge and also the second painting for the January Virtual Paintout from the Isle of Man. And this one is hot off the presses, still quite juicy and very sparkley when being photographed.

I think I’ve found one of my problems when trying to do these landscapes and that was always reaching for my red sable or mongoose brushes and the linen panels. I think I should have been reaching for my bristle brushes and the regular canvas panels. There are certain things that just seemed to go a lot easier using the bristle and canvas than the other way.

I think I need to make a trip to Blick tomorrow or see if Jerry’s is having any kind of brush sale and pick up some nicer bristle brushes.

8×10″ oil on canvas panel. Click here to see the Virtual Paintout reference photo.

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in clouds, cows, foliage, house, landscape, livestock, oil, painting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 18 of the 30 Day Challenge – Virtual Paintout #2

  1. Marla says:

    Dave, this is really atmospheric! The sky is gorgeous.

    I was thrilled with this month's Virtual Paintout – there were so many gorgeous scenes it was hard to choose one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

