Day 28 of the 30 Day Challenge – Egret Island

Here we are with just a couple of paintings to go and I find myself what to do for a grand finale. I’m thinking of going big, something in the 16×20 or 18×24 range. Haven’t decided yet.

With this painting I tried something a little different. Mainly in the canvas. This is a New Traditions linen panel with the most texture of any of their linen panels. Mounted on Gatorboard, this is a very lightweight panel, but it is razor straight and flat. Not sure I cared for all that texture though. I have five other New Traditions panels, all with a smoother surface. I ordered one of their sample packs after hearing Daniel Keys rave about them during a workshop I took last year. So the jury is still out. I’ll have a better idea when I use some of the other panels they sent me.

I had to go to Dick Blick and then to Michael’s today to find some brushes because I only have two liners and they are bigger than what I needed. I didn’t realize it would be so hard to find liners, but Blick had a couple Robert Simmons that might work, but still aren’t as small as I wanted. I found a couple Loew Cornells at Michael’s and those are what I used to put some finishing touches on this painting. I still would like to find some smaller liners. I guess I’ll just have to order online and hope for the best.

8×10″ oil on New Traditions linen panel (350DP).

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in bird, birding, birdwatching, blue, egret, lake, landscape, marsh, oil, painting, river, water. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

