Studio Surprise

A couple of weeks ago I alluded to a purchase made at the thrift store, something that, when I saw it I knew I just had to have it and how I would use it. So, without further ado, here it is.  

What?  Not sure what it is that you’re looking at?  Okay, let me give you a better look.

Okay, so I found a used entertainment center with two glass doors.  So what?  Well, first of all it gave me a little more storage space for little art tidbits that were just sitting on the bookshelf or on the table, making the creation of art more difficult.

BUT, that isn’t the best part of this little find.  This is.

NO!  Not the fake apple and grapes.  It’s the fact that I can use the top shelf as a shadow box for small still life settings.  Now, looking at this photo it might not look too impressive and it wouldn’t be if this is where it stopped.

Next I went to Home Depot and picked up a very inexpensive clamp-on light and an assortment of light bulbs.

I’ve picked up three different kinds of bulbs to start with.  Two CFL bulbs (compact fluorescent), one rated at 5000K for daylight and one rated at 3500K for a little softer light.  And I picked up a regular incandescent bulb rated at 2500K that will give me a quite warm light.  Here is the 3500K bulb in action.

And here is a close up of what I’m looking at when I’m painting.

In this photo I am using a piece of travertine tile that I had laying around and a printed background.  I am going to go to a couple of flooring stores and buy a few sample tiles of different colors and patterns to use in this box.  I can buy 18×18″ tiles and they will fit in here beautifully.  I am also going to be looking at the thrift stores for a couple wooden cutting boards.  The older the better.

The printed backgrounds are just that, printed on paper and then glued onto a cardboard backing.  I have about a dozen different backgrounds made up and can use whatever strikes my fancy that day.

I also have about dozen pieces of fabric that can be used in the settings.

So, that is my surprise that I was talking about.  I knew you would be jealous.  You’re not?  Darn, you’re a tough crowd.  But, it works for me.  And one of the the best parts about this whole setup is that it cost me less than $35, including the light and bulbs.

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in apple, fruits, grapes, oil, painting, shadow box, still life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Studio Surprise

  1. I love repurposing things. Great find, Dave! Bravo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

