Good news in today

I was checking the RoCo website to see how my four paintings have done in this show and all four of them have now found new homes. Feels good. One of the goals I have this year is to submit three paintings to different shows or exhibitions around the country. I get notices every day from Artshow.com and there is always something I think I can enter.

Maybe my work isn’t quite up to the level it needs to be for these shows, but I feel that if I do enter the shows and continue working at it, my work will improve. What I try to do is find a show that has a deadline for entry at least a couple of months out and then start planning for that show. I work out some ideas for paintings, do some preliminary drawings and begin the process of painting. If I can slow myself down in the painting process, I can turn out a piece that I am quite proud of. That is where my challenge lies. I get too impatient sometimes.

I have ingrained into myself this idea of doing daily paintings and there is nothing wrong with that. The problem comes in when I’m trying to do something a little larger or more involved and I am a few hours into it, I begin to feel like I need to get it finished and get it finished NOW! THAT is my biggest downfall. I need to slow myself down and let the painting take as long as it needs. If it can be done in ten hours, then so be it. If it takes 100 hours, then it takes 100 hours and I should feel that that is time well spent. I am a little envious of painters that stick a canvas on their easel and spend the next month working on a painting for a few hours a day and turning out a masterpiece.

If we didn’t find this challenging we would get bored and move on to something else.

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in 6x6, boat, bottle, clouds, foliage, fruits, glass, grapes, lake, landscape, marine, maritime, mountains, painting, seascape, still life, water, wine. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good news in today

  1. Congratulations on your sales, Dave! I don't consider myself a fast painter, but am working on it. I always admire the painter who can turn out work fast. Best wishes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

