Day 11 of 30 in 30 Challenge – Pomegranate ver. 2.0

Well, I guess we all know that sometimes life can creep up and keep us away from the easel when we really do want to be there. Work has been intruding on my painting time. How dare it! I was able to get this one done and I will post it to day 11 just before the deadline to get them in. Now I just have to figure out what to do for day 12. I won’t have much work to do tomorrow or this weekend for that matter, so I should be able to catch up and maybe even get ahead.

The Las Vegas Artist Guild is having an informal plein air paint out this Sunday to mark the Plein Air Painters’ 11th Great WORLDWIDE Paint Out 2013. I didn’t even know there was such a holiday. How come we don’t get the day off? I’m thinking I might participate though my plein air skills are somewhat suspect. I guess that’s the point though. Practice, practice, practice. And maybe I’ll meet some other plein air artists that like to get together on a weekly or monthly basis and go paint out. That would be worth the price of admission.  If nothing else I could do a couple of plein air paintings that I could post here.

Anyway, here is my Day 11 entry. All palette knife and oils. I’m thinking these Rembrandt paints I used aren’t too well suited to palette knife painting. They were a little too juicy. Either I need to go back to the W&N paints or use some sort of medium gel to thicken up the Rembrandts.

6×6″ oil on gessobord. 

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in 6x6, fruits, knife, palette, pomegranate, still life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

