Desert Sunrise

Copyright 2013 - Dave Casey - DCasey - The Daily Painter

Another attempt at a landscape using the Zorn palette. There is a lot to like about this one, but I can still see some areas for improvement.

8×10″ oil on linen panel. 

Copyright 2013 - Dave Casey - DCasey - The Daily Painter

And this was such a short post I decided to give another studio tip. I listen to all the art radio shows on Blogtalk Radio and have heard this one a number of times. Get a bulletin board or Dry Erase board to keep track of things you need to remember. It’s a lot better than a sticky note that gets lost in the clutter of the average studio. I even mentioned this to my sweetie this evening, about how I can’t seem to keep my office/studio clean and usable. It’s a never ending battle.

Anyway, a quick trip to WallyMart and about fifteen dollars later I had this nice little Dry Erase board to keep track of my very complicated life. Yeah right. The level of complication in my life is usually which valuation reports to finish for the banks and what to eat for dinner. I don’t need a bulletin board for that! But, I want to start entering some of my paintings in some of the smaller exhibitions around the country. Are my paintings ready for such adventures? Probably not, but it’s a start. It’s hard to keep track of deadlines when they get stuck in a computer file or on the aforementioned sticky notes. This is much more “in your face” especially when you consider it’s right by the light switch in the office.  And it even comes with a couple of little cutesy pie magnets to stick notes under if I don’t feel like writing them down on the board.

I also like to keep track of upcoming festivals that I might like to go to in the area. Summerlin and Kayenta are this coming weekend. Not sure what we’re going to do, but Summerlin is a must, being as how it’s only ten minutes from the house. Kayenta will depend on workload towards the end of the week.

Copyright 2013 - Dave Casey - DCasey - The Daily Painter

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in 8x10, clouds, flowers, foliage, landscape, oil, painting, palette, Zorn. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Desert Sunrise

  1. Nice touch with the music – gonna have to figure that one out too! Really like that you are so diligent with taking time to paint. Big challenge for me…

    Like

Leave a Reply

