Day 22 – 30 in 30 Challenge – Apples 03

Apples 03b - pastel drawing on paper - Dave Casey - TheDailyPainter.jpg
Apple 03
©2014 Dave Casey
9×12″ – pastel on paper
Not for sale.

Now for something completely different. Apples! Oh yes, I can hear you groaning already, “but Dave, all you do is apples.” Yes, but how many times have I done them in pastels? Hmmm?

I have three or four boxes of pastels in my studio and I haven’t been into them in over a year. I thought tonight would be a good time to do so. I wasn’t sure I wanted to deal with the mess of oil painting. Ha! What was I thinking? When it comes to messy, there is nothing that makes a bigger mess than pastels.

I stuck my easel on the desk, with a towel underneath it and went to work. And I still had pastel dust everywhere and had to use a wet wipe to clean the desk off afterwards. And no, I did not do any blowing on the paper to clear dust or the like. It just went everywhere.

I needed a subject that I could do with my eyes closed. I put in The Avengers and started in on the reference. What better way to create art than to be surround sounded by aliens bent on destroying the Earth and taking over the universe? And my reference photo? It was in my head. I’ve done apples so many times I can do them without any setup or photo.

No too bad if I do say so myself.

9×12″ pastel on 80lb Strathmore Pastel paper.

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in 9x12, apple, fruits, pastels, still life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

