The Coming Storm 001

Landscape - The Coming Storm 001a 16x20 oil on textured canvas - Dave Casey - TheDailyPainter.jpg

 The Coming Storm 001

©2014 Dave Casey
16×20″ – oil on linen panel – $345

I’ve had this heavily textured canvas panel sitting on an easel for 6-7 months now and just didn’t know what to do with it. Then, as I was looking back at some older paintings I had done, I came across a photo of one that I had taken when the painting was just at the lay-in stage. I had just finished blocking in three large shapes to get rid of the white of the canvas.

At the time I had a grand vision of what I wanted to accomplish on that canvas, but if I had just left it alone at that point it would have been a right nice impressionistic painting. But, sometimes we let our vision get in the way of what is staring us right in the face and I went on to paint a mediocre (at best) landscape painting that didn’t come close to comparing to the block in stage.

I saw that photo and it came to me what I could do with that textured canvas and this is the result. This came out even better than that original painting. I may have to do some more of these types of paintings in the future. 

Landscape - The Coming Storm 001a 16x20 oil on textured canvas - Dave Casey - TheDailyPainter.jpg

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in 16x20, blue, clouds, landscape, mountains. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

