BAGA Show Painting #2 – Yellow Headed Blackbird

Yellow Headed Blackbird 001a 12x12 oil on stretched canvas - Dave Casey - TheDailyPainter.com.jpg
Yellow Headed Blackbird 001
©2014 Dave Casey
12×12″ – oil on stretched canvas – $165

Honey Bunny and I were out for a stroll around Railroad Lake, here in Las Vegas. As usual, I was doing a little bird watching and grabbing photos when I could. Towards the south end of the lake there is a thicket of cattails and reeds about thirty feet off shore and I could hear some kind of bird making a racket in there. But I couldn’t see him.

After waiting patiently (me, not Honey Bunny) he showed himself near the tops of the reeds. It was this yellow headed blackbird, just singing and squawking and having a good time. Oh, and hanging on for dear life because it was quite breezy that day. He kept trying to hide from me, behind reeds and cattails, but my camera is quicker than he thought, so I did get a couple of decent shots of him out of the fifty or so pictures I took.

Oh, if you decide you want this painting, you better make it quick.  It is going into an exhibition towards the end of the month and will be sent in the next ten days or so.

Yellow Headed Blackbird 001a 12x12 oil on stretched canvas - Dave Casey - TheDailyPainter.com.jpg
About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in 12x12, bird, blackbird, green, landscape, oil, painting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

