140914 – Day 14a – 30 in 30 Challenge – Charcoal on newsprint – Dave Casey – TheDailyPainter

140914 - Day 14a - 30 in 30 Challenge - Charcoal on newsprint -  Dave Casey - TheDailyPainter.jpg
©2014 Dave Casey
(after Jennifer McChristian)
approx. 14×18″ – Charcoal on newsprint

I did a drawing the other day that was a complete disaster. I’m not sure if it’s the charcoal that I use or the surface I was drawing on, but once this charcoal is laid down on the newsprint I’ve been using, it is down to stay. No amount of erasing or blending with fingers will move much charcoal. So I didn’t post that drawing.

As I thought about it today, I realized that this “problem” could work to my advantage. It would stop me from blending and erasing and correcting and make me be a little more cautious when it comes to laying down a stroke. I have been a big fan of Jennifer McChristian and her figure drawings and saw how her style would work beautifully with this charcoal and newsprint. So I decided to give it a try. As a matter of fact, this first attempt at this is a study done from one of her drawings.

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in charcoal, drawing, female, figurative, figure, nude. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

