Just one of those days …

SJ03I’m tellin’ ya, there are times when I just want to pull my hair out.  A few days ago I started a new challenge for myself.  My drawing skills when it comes to drawing faces leaves a lot to be desired, so I’ve embarked on a 30 day challenge to sketch at least two faces a day.  I figure by the end of the 30 days I will be have improved quite a bit.

Anyway, this is the fifth drawing and I am still having the same problem every single time.  The eyes are always too high on the head.  Even when I know that I am trying to overcome this mistake, it still happens.  I know this is a mistake that most beginners make, as well as, most kids if you ask them to draw a person’s face.  But, I’ve been doing this long enough you would think I would get past it.

I’m probably going to have to use a strict measuring and grid system to beat this thing.  I know how to draw the egg shape, draw a line across at the halfway point and this becomes your eyebrow line.  I know how to draw another line halfway between the brow line and the bottom of the egg and that becomes the bottom of the nose and another line halfway between that line and the bottom of the egg and that becomes the bottom of the bottom lip.

I know all that.  But, I just can’t seem to get past it when it comes to putting pencil to paper.

These two photos are of the fifth drawing in my challenge.  The one on the left is how the drawing really looks and the one on the right is how it looks after I ran it through a graphics program and moved the eyes down.  I moved those eyes down a little more than half the height of the eyes and I think a case could be made to lower them just a touch more.

Okay, so much for the rant.  I’m hungry, maybe that’s the problem.

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

