30-in-30 Challenge – Day 01 – Heads of Easter

01b - A Show of HeadsHeads of Easter – NFS
©2015 Dave Casey
24×36″ – acrylic on stretched canvas
Daily Paintworks Gallery for Available Artwork

I find it hard to believe that this is the first post of August.  August has been moderately busy, but time in the studio has been hard to come by.  That and the fact that the studio is in a state of major upheaval.  I use to do a lot of my real estate work in the same room, so it was more my office than anything.

But, with retirement from real estate I have decided to turn the room into a fully functioning artist studio.  It will be my place of zen, my sanctuary.  You hear that Honey Bunny, my sanctuary.  There is a lock on the door.

Anyway, I digress.  The room is still a mess, but I am going to be jumping into finishing it starting tomorrow and hopefully, be finished within a day or two.  This is the perfect opportunity for me to downsize my possessions with some going to Goodwill and some going out on the curb next Thursday for trash pick-up.

Okay, tomorrow starts Leslie Saeta’s bi-annual torture-fest, errr, I mean 30 paintings in 30 days challenge.  The painting above is my first entry into this prestigious event.  I have been working on this painting for about a week now and just finished it up this evening.  I had to get it finished tonight.  It was painted with the idea of entering it into an exhibition and today was the deadline.  I made it with fifteen minutes to spare.

This is an acrylic painting which is something I don’t do very often.  Acrylics and I are just not on the best of terms.  They fight.  I fight back.  They usually win.  It is also one of my larger paintings, coming in at 24×36″.  Should be interesting if it gets juried into the exhibition.

That’s all for now.  Now, I’ll have a bowl of ice cream (from my dad’s 80th birthday party) and sit and look at the mess in this room and wonder how I am ever going to get it cleaned up.

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in 30-in-30 challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30-in-30 Challenge – Day 01 – Heads of Easter

  1. Brenda Kay says:

    This is the second time I have visited your blog today, because this painting keeps catching my eye. I have been scrolling through the work Leslie is sharing on her rack – err, blog. 😉 I enjoy this painting very much, and hope you enjoy the challenge! I am excited about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

