30-in-30 Paintings – Day 01

day-01

Figure Drawing (study) – 12/31/16
©2016 Dave Casey
14×17″ –  Conte crayon on paper
Check DPW Gallery for Available Artwork & Auctions

It’s that time again. Leslie Saeta is holding her annual, beginning of the year torture-fest, where we attempt to paint (or draw) 30 works in 30 days. A way to get the year off to a roaring start.

I will be spending most of this month working on my drawing skills. I’ve been doing Bargue drawings over the past couple of months and I will do quite a few this month. There might be a daily painting or two get thrown into the mix, but drawing is the name of the game this time around.

Here is my first work. This is quite rough and only a practice piece. I wanted to try to make sense of some Conte drawing pencils I’ve picked up and they are a handful. These are supposed to be the best drawing pencils around, but I don’t see it. There is way too much grit in the pigment and it causes quite a few problems when trying to lay down a smooth layer of color. I am working on another drawing with them, but I don’t think I’ll be using them much after this. They are way too frustrating.

About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in 30-in-30 challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

