Cherries and Mug 001a 5×5 oil on wood panel – The Daily Painter

141201 - Cherries and Mug 001a 5x5 oil on wood panel - Dave Casey - TheDailyPainter.jpg
  Cherries and Mug 001
©2014 Dave Casey
5×5″ – Oil on gesso panel

It sometimes amazes me how long a painting can take to get it just right. This is just a small 5×5″ painting that took hours to get it to the point I was satisfied with it. Maybe that’s the secret for me. Instead of trying to get a painting knocked out as fast as I can so I can say I did a painting today, I need to slow down and just enjoy the process.

Of course, I haven’t shown the abstract that I’m working on. I have over 17 hours invested in that one and I’m still not anywhere close to satisfied with that one. I may end up painting over it and starting over. Again. That’s the beauty of acrylics. I can paint over a failed attempt and try again. That abstract has five or six layers of failed attempts under the current layer.

Ahhh, the life of an artist. A new challenge each and every day. 

141201 - Cherries and Mug 001a 5x5 oil on wood panel - Dave Casey - TheDailyPainter.jpg
About D Glenn Casey

Click the About tag in the menu above.
This entry was posted in 5x5, cherry, cup, fruits, mug, oil, painting, still life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cherries and Mug 001a 5×5 oil on wood panel – The Daily Painter

  1. Very nice work.Love this post!

    Like

  2. Dave Casey says:

    Thank you Jenee. That means a lot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

